Management Structure

The UK-China (Guangdong) CCUS Centre was based on a consensus of the Memorandum, and was jointly launched by UKCCSRC, SCCSC, GEDI and Linkschina.

The University of Edinburgh, China Resources Power, China National Offshore Oil Corporation, Howden Group, Alstom, Shell Cansolv, Det Norske Veritas, CAS (Chinese Academy of Sciences) South China Sea Institute of Oceanology and CAS (Chinese Academy of Sciences) Guangdong Energy Research Institute are also members of the Centre. Other interested parties in Guangdong CCUS activities involve governmental organisations and enterprises in Australia, USA, and Norway.

Mr Xiaoli Dong, Assistant General Manager of China National Offshore Oil Corporation (CNOOC), and Mr Andrew Minchener, General Manager of International Energy Agency (IEA), have committed to fully support the development of Guangdong CCUS Centre and joined the Centre as the chairman and deputy chairman of the Centre’s Advisory Committee. Other deputy chairmen include Mr Kejun Li, independent direct of CIMC Group, ex-president of China Classification Society, and Professor Di Zhou, from the South China Sea Institution of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Science (CAS).

Key members of Centre’s Advisory Committee include Mr Richard Smith, Business Development Manager of Howden Group, Mr Guohua Zhang, Deputy General Manager of Shell Cansolv (China), Mr Bill Senior, UK independent consultant in carbon storage, Professor Xiaochun Li, Wuhan Institute of Rock & Soil Mechanics, CAS, Professor Bo Peng, China University of Petroleum, Associate Professor David Reiner, Business School of the University of Cambridge, Ms Peta Ashworth, General Manager of Ash Research Co. Ltd. and adjunct Associate Professor at University of Queensland, Mr. Qianguo Lin, Global Carbon Capture and Storage Research Institute (China), and Mr Malcolm Ricketts, Deputy Director General of the Department of Energy and Climate Change and Director of the Oil and Gas Division Scotland, to name a few.